Paranoid?

My boss hired a weirdo. I don’t mean his looks, or his attitude, or his personality…those are normal most of the times. But then, there are times when he does things that are just out of my expectations – and it is damn irritating.

Let me start with the background of my company. Basically, it is a very small company and 1 person might have a few job roles. Then, 3 months ago, my boss decided to hire this guy: A mechanical designer who was a manager for a short while in a big company, retrenched, and was unemployed for almost 6 months, and bought a brand new car halfway through his unemployment.

Anyway, for the first month, he was following me to the gents… I mean… wtf man… that’s just weird. It might be a coincidence for the first few times, but one whole month? I had to act like I’m going to the gents, and when I noticed him getting up and about to follow me, I would rush to a toilet on another floor before he noticed me. After a week or so, he stopped following me to the gents.

Then, maybe because his ‘following me to toilet’ thing failed, he started to come to my table and stare at what I’m doing at random times in a day. He would just stand and stare at my pc screen for 5 minutes. After a few days of this, I just casually ask if there is anything that I can help him with, or anything that is bothering him. Then he started bragging of all the software development platform that he has learnt before, and all his ex-colleagues that are professional software developers that could build a PC and more from basic electronic components. And yes, I have confirmed with him, basic components are not hard-disk or RAM or mother board, he meant resistors and capacitors. Wow…just wow…I was literally speachless and just went back to what I was doing. From that encounter onwards, I stopped talking to him, not because I hate or dislike him. I just want to avoid that awkwardness. Well, after 2 weeks or so, he stopped coming to look at what I’m doing. 

For a moment, I though I was in the clear, but week after week, I slowly noticed something else – he would wear the same colour shirt as me.


Just to clarify, I am not a robot, it just happens that every time I wash and fold my clothes on the weekend, the red shirt normally ends up at the top of the pile and the blue either the 2nd or 3rd. So normally, red would end up being my Monday shirt.

I purposely made sure that red was the colour I wore on Mondays for 3 more weeks, just to prove that I am just paranoid. But…OMG…he really wore red every Monday. Naturally, I made sure I switch up all my shirt and made sure red wasn’t on the top ever weekend. After 2 or 3 Mondays, he stopped wearing red on Mondays as well. 

WTF is wrong with him? WTF is happening? Arrgghhh…I just couldn’t wrap my mind around this. What’s next? Will he do something more drastic? Oh shit…Please…No…

Leave a Reply

